Women And Other People

Last week I had the opportunity to visit with the Mobile Life group at the Swedish Institute for Computer Science. I gave a talk on some useful similarities between the player/character and person/avatar dichotomies, and had the great pleasure of giving feedback to student work in an inspiring seminar afternoon.
It looks like I’ll return to Sics on the same errand later in the spring, and will also be speaking on approximately the same topic twice in April. Once in Århus on our student seminar in Cognitive Semiotics on April 3rd, with a focus on a general introduction to intense and/or pervasive Nordic Style live role-playing. (That’ll be building 1.467, room 415 at 1 PM). And once at Knutepunkt in Oslo, probably on the 17th or 18th.

International Women’s Day is on Sunday, which has prompted me to write on related issues. I speculate about the mainstream responses to Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo in Fokus here – the original title, of course, translates Men Who Hate Women. In this week’s issue, I talk about He’s Just Not That Into You in relation to contemporary feminism. And on Weird Science, I am hypnotized by scoop-necked game show girls straddling giant cylinders. I guess I should be more critical, but there it is. Culture. (All in Swedish).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

