The Non-Vacation Holidays

Christmas happened, and so much work exploded simultaneously that I simply haven’t had time to update the blog. Here is a brief roundup of some of the things I’ve been doing since my last post.

I spent a full day teaching cultural journalism in Piteå and loved it. The students and staff liked it too, although there was apparently some slight consternation on the part of the latter at the fact that my ideas were not exactly what they have on the curriculum…

The following day, I talked at a breakfast seminar at Riksteatern on the topic of live role-playing games and ludic society.

I wrote a column about the Noughties for Dagens Nyheter.

I participated in a super exciting symposium on Childhood and Post Colonialism at the University of Växjö. My talk was entitled “Saving the World From Southern California: Global Girl Power in the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Canon”. I was also invited to chair a session on the arctic and sub-arctic in Nordic children’s lit, which was totally eye-opening (I blogged about it in Finnish here). Friday that week, I talked about vampires and fashion on P1 Stil.

I wrote about Avatar on Weird Science and its technological advances in Fokus. I also spoke about James Cameron on P1 Morgon last Friday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

